Let Me Paint You A Picture

Art
Bill MurrayThe NeighboursThe Separation
Without A Doubt Part 2Rachel in Furs
Ophelia’s Dream Custom Couple PortraitWilliam Henry Harrison


The very nature of a portrait is slightly creepy.  Maybe it’s because when I think of someone painting a portrait I think of Napoleon Dynamite’s portrait of Trisha or some Renaissance stalker.  There is no escaping the subjects in these portraits.  They are front and center and little bit too close for comfort.  They can also be humorous.  Of course Bill Murray’s head on a uniformed body is funny, but somehow I also find portraits of lesser known presidents to be humorous as well ala William Henry Harrison.  Famous presidents portraits are not so funny, but I still have a soft spot for Honest Abe and would love to have some sort portrait of him, maybe in a guest bedroom, just in case.  I think these would be great antique store/flea market finds because it’s not really about them being great art.  The dipped affect is also a great idea if you find something that is a bit too creepy on the bottom half (cat lady with all her “babies”).  I will be trying to find some of these not quite right portraits for my bedroom.  I’m only interested in a couple but I would love to see a gallery wall of these in someone else’s house, maybe in the bathroom, now that could get uncomfortable.

Spaces
Emily HendersonMarcus HayPilar GuzmanEmily Henderson
Two of these are from Emily Henderson, but what can I say, that girl has major style and totally gets quirky art.

Leave a Reply

