Blond Ambition – Part II

the-good-and-the-bad
The Good
I love that blonde hair makes me feel more put together.
There is something about blonde hair on me that makes me feel like I look put together. I think it’s the unnaturalness of it. Blond hair equals I obviously care about how I look; I go to the salon. Where brown hair is more I’m a mom and don’t have time to think about how I look.

I can wear less make up with blonde hair.
Specifically in the eyebrow region. I was not gifted with thick eyebrows (Scornful look to my lovely younger sister with dark thick beautiful brows). Mine are sparse and lighter in color which looks more natural with blonde hair. I’m a blush, brows and lashes girl so this is huge. (One day I hope to graduate into a statement lip girl)

The Bad
Very short very blonde hair is a very specific look and that look can over take you.
When all anyone sees is your hair that’s a bad thing. (Also being compared to Miley Cyrus not so much fun. How about Kate Lanphear or Michelle Williams people!)

Your hair becomes the ultimate accessory that is your signature piece.
Very blonde and very short are two very distinct things and together it starts to add up. See above. Even if my hair were long the blondness would still be distinct.  This distinctness acts like an accessory that you are always wearing.

It looks like I am trying too hard.
This is the flip side of looking put together. Take it two steps further and you fall into a sterotype. My style is minimal with bold and edgy accents, but I want to steer clear of punk, and nothing says punk like a bleached asymmetrical hair style, think Agyness Deyn or Miley Cyrus.

I am no longer blonde. In the end I wanted to grow out my hair more than I wanted to be a blonde and maintaining that color resulted in a lot of damage.

** Notice that Miley Cyrus and Kate Lanphear’s hairstyles aren’t that different but their styles are and I personally much prefer Kate.

 

 

One thought on “Blond Ambition – Part II

Leave a Reply

